Character Cats

Raymond Cattell’s Taxonomy identifies 16 different personality  factors that could be used for polarizing and dimensionalizing characters. Give them a try in your story!

The following personality trait list describes some of the descriptive terms used for each of the 16 personality dimensions described by Cattell.

1. Abstractedness: Imaginative versus practical
2. Apprehension: Worried versus confident
3. Dominance: Forceful versus submissive
4. Emotional Stability: Calm versus high-strung
5. Liveliness: Spontaneous versus restrained
6. Openness to Change: Flexible versus attached to the familiar
7. Perfectionism: Controlled versus undisciplined
8. Privateness: Discreet versus open
9. Reasoning: Abstract versus concrete
10. Rule-Consciousness: Conforming versus non-conforming
11. Self-Reliance: Self-sufficient versus dependent
12. Sensitivity: Tender-hearted versus tough-minded.
13. Social Boldness: Uninhibited versus shy
14. Tension: Impatient versus relaxed
15. Vigilance: Suspicious versus trusting
16. Warmth: Outgoing versus reserved

Leave a Reply